No contest yet for 7 councilor seats in Collingwood


Nominations of candidates for the municipal elections close in two days, but so far only 7 people have registered to run for the seven councilor seats

With two days left for candidates to file their candidacy to run for mayor, Collingwood’s potential ballot looks a bit thin.

There will be races for the positions of mayor and deputy mayor, as several candidates have filed for these seats. However, only seven candidates applied for the seven councilor positions, leaving open the possibility of an acclamation rather than an election.

The mayoral candidates so far are: Yvonne Hamlin, Mariane McLeod and Norm Sandberg.

Tim Fryer and Bob Madigan have applied for the post of deputy mayor.

All five nominees have past and current board experience.

The mayor and deputy mayor will also serve as councilors to Simcoe County Council.

Candidates for councilor so far include Steve Berman, Ian Chadwick, Deb Doherty, Cam Ecclestone, Brandon Houston, Kathy Jeffery and Chris Potts.

Collingwood uses a general election system, not a constituency system. There are seven councilors to be elected. If there is no contest for seats, a candidate may be acclaimed.

Municipal elections are held every four years. To be eligible to run for Council in Collingwood, a candidate must be at least 18 years of age, be a Canadian citizen, resident of Collingwood, owner or tenant of land in Collingwood, or spouse of a landlord or tenant, not legally disqualified from voting, not disqualified by law from holding municipal office and eligible to vote in Collingwood.

Anyone wishing to submit a nomination to run for council must be endorsed by 25 eligible voters. For more information on how to run for city council, visit the city’s website here. There is a $200 fee to run for mayor and $100 to run for deputy mayor or councillor.

Elections for school trustees are also part of the municipal electoral process.

Nominations for Simcoe County District School Board Trustee (English, Public) representing Collingwood and Wasaga Beach include nominees Mike Foley, Bob Lima, Barbara-Anne Smith and Audrey Stukas.

For the position of Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board Trustee representing Clearview, Collingwood, Springwater and Wasaga Beach, Shawn Cooper and Heather Eby are both on the list of candidates so far.

Saveria Caruso and Eric Lapointe are candidates for the seat of sector councilor of the Viamonde school board, and only Claire Thibideau has declared her intention to run for the seat of councilor of the Catholic school board MonAvenir.

The deadline for submitting applications is August 19 at 2 p.m. Election day is October 24, but advance voting begins October 8.

This year, Collingwood residents will have the opportunity to vote online anytime between October 8 at 10 a.m. and October 24 at 8 p.m. There will also be paper ballot voting available at the Collingwood Public Library on Saturdays and Wednesdays in October leading up to and including Election Day on October 24.

You can confirm that you are registered to vote in the City of Collingwood for municipal and school board elections online at

The slate of nominees is currently uncertified until the close of nominations, and the city clerk will post a certified slate by 4 p.m. on August 22. You can see the full list on the city’s website.


Comments are closed.