Announcement of a new grant program for community spaces


Learning and Engagement Accelerator Fund, or LEAF, to provide $ 1 million in grants to help economic recovery from COVID

COVID has been tough on communities and small towns in Ontario across “Commonwell’s Country”; (The smaller locations and the great outdoors in Eastern, Central and Western Ontario served by the Commonwell Mutual Insurance Group.)

To revitalize and re-energize learning, education and engagement in these communities, Commonwell is committing up to $ 1 million to fund community initiatives where Commonwell operates, through its new philanthropy initiative:

LEAF (Learning and Engagement Accelerator Fund). The fund can be used to help improve, update and even build new facilities or programs where communities come together to learn, share, play and come together.

“One of the many ways COVID continues to hit our communities in Ontario has been to cut donations and budgets for community programs, everything has come in handy in dealing with COVID so non-essential programs have been drastically reduced. reduced, ”said Tim Shauf, President and CEO of Commonwell Mutual Insurance Group.

“We decided that our program could fill this gap and ensure that important programs and community places in Commonwell’s country continue to thrive. Now it’s up to the residents of those communities to tell us what needs to be funded, and we have $ 1 million available to make it happen.

Which projects are eligible ?

Eligible local community initiatives in areas The Commonwell operates across Ontario, such as a local library branch, school, community center, arena, or any other place in town where a community meets.

Some examples of project ideas: community kitchens, community gardens, upgrading or creating new computer labs in libraries or other public spaces, vocational training programs (offered free of charge), outdoor fitness equipment, etc. .

Which specific cities are eligible?

Alexandria, Arnprior, Barrie, Belleville, Bracebridge, Brighton, Brockville, Calabogie, Carlton Place, Coburg, Collingwood, Cornwall, Gravenhurst, Hawkesbury, Huntsville, Innisfill, Kemptville, Kingston, Kincardine, Lindsay, Midland, Minden, Nappanee, Orangeville, Orillia , Ottawa, Owen Sound, Parry Sound, Pembroke, Perth, Peterborough, Prince Edward County, Renfrew, Smiths Falls, Wasaga Beach and all the other smaller and larger places in between.

And after?

For communities to earn their share of the fund, residents can nominate an eligible project through the submission portal at and share the link on social networks via these platforms / handles:
Instagram – @thecommonwellinsurance Community engagement is a key factor in deciding winning proposals.

Nominations will close on November 10 and recipients will be announced in early December.



Leave A Reply