7 candidates in the provincial polls in Simcoe-Grey


Simcoe-Grey voters will have seven candidates to choose from on their ballots for the upcoming provincial election.

In addition to the four main political parties (Progressive Conservative, Liberal, Green and NDP), there are three other parties with local candidates, including New Blue, None of the Above and the Ontario Party.

Closing of applications on May 12 at 2 p.m.

In the riding of Simcoe-Grey, the candidates are:

  • Ted Crysler for the Ontario Liberal Party
  • David Ghobrial for New Blue
  • Billy Gordon for none of the above parties for direct democracy
  • Allan Kuhn for the Green Party of Ontario
  • Keith Nunn for the Ontario NDP
  • Rodney Sacrey for the Ontario Party
  • Brian Saunderson for the Ontario PC Party

Online voter registration ends May 23, so Ontario residents have until then to confirm, update or add voter information online. Voters can also add or update voter information at their returning office, at the advance polling station, or on election day at the polling station. More on the Elections Ontario website here.

Election Day is June 2 and registered voters will receive a map in the mail outlining the Election Day polling locations. Electors can vote at any advance polling station in their riding.

In-person voting before election day can be done at the office of the returning officer at the GNE Farm Building at 2220 Fairgrounds Road. In-person voting at the office of the returning officer closes June 1 at 6 p.m. The office is open Monday to Saturday from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., as well as Sunday, May 22 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Sunday, May 29 from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m.

You can ask to vote by mail via the Elections Ontario website here.

There are also options to vote by home visit or vote from a hospital. Both can be arranged through the returning office (1-833-505-3411).

The nearest advance polls are the Beaver Valley Community Center in Thornbury and the Real Canadian Superstore in Wasaga Beach, both of which will be open May 19-28 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.

People who have a voter information card can get a ballot at a polling place by showing the card and a piece of identification with their name on it. This does not need to be a photo ID and it can be any document issued by a government or institution such as a bank or utility provider.

The candidates who will be on the ballot for the riding of Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound, which includes Gray Highlands, are:

  • Rick Byers for the Ontario PC Party
  • Suzanne Coles for the Ontario Party
  • Vince Grimaldi for New Blue
  • Karen Gventer for the Ontario NDP
  • Selwyn Hicks for the Ontario Liberal Party
  • Reima Kaikkonen as a freelancer
  • Joel Lughead for the Direct Democrat None of the Above
  • Danielle Valiquette for the Green Party of Ontario
  • Joseph Westover for Populist Ontario

Comments are closed.